LOCAL GOVERNMENT OF CANADA.

QUEBEC.

By C. J. Magnan, Inspector General of Roman Catholic Schools, Quebec.



Political Organization.—Under the constitution conferred by the British North America Act, 1867, the Legislature of Quebec may enact laws respecting education, such public works as relate only to the province, the administration of the public lands of the province, colonization, agriculture, asylums, prisons, organization of the legal tribunals, municipal institutions and, in a word, everything which concerns its particular interests. The province has its own Legislature modelled after that of the Federal Parliament, and this Legislature is composed of the Lieu-

tenant-Governor, a Legislative Council and a Legislative Assembly. There is also an Executive Council, which is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor representing the King, assisted by councillors or ministers. The Lieutenant-Governor convenes, prorogues and dissolves the Houses, and to him is reserved the power of sanctioning the laws passed by the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council. Each of the ministers who compose the Executive Council has usually charge of a department or ministry, and the following departments are now in existence: (1) Department of the Attorney-General; (2) Department of the Provincial Secretary; (3) the Treasury; (4) Lands and Forests; (5) Colonization, Mines and Fisheries; (6) Agriculture; (7) Public Works and Labour; (8) Roads.

Legislative Council.—The Legislative Council consists of 24 members who are appointed for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. A legislative councillor must be at least 30 years of age, must be a British subject resident within the province and must own unincumbered property of the minimum value of \$4,000 situated within the division represented. Besides the right of approving or rejecting Bills adopted by the Legislative Assembly, the legislative councillors may propose, discuss and adopt measures which do not affect the public revenues. Such legislation must be ratified by the Legislative Assembly. For the purposes of the Legislative Council, the province is divided into 24 constituencies. Nova Scotia is the only other province of Canada with bicameral parliamentary representation.

Legislative Assembly.—The Legislative Assembly is at present composed of 81 members elected by 82 counties, the counties of Charlevoix and Saguenay being represented by a single member. To be eligible for membership one must be at least 21 years of age, a British subject and free from any legal incapacity. A Legislature may only last for five years without re-election. Every year the members must be convened in session by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council for the despatch of public business, for voting the necessary appropriations to all branches of the public service and for the amendment of existing